top of page


A number of different awards will be handed out at the conference,

the list of awards given below is as of yet tentative and incomplete.

The deadline for award nominations is 31 May.

ISP Most Innovative Pulsed Power Application Award

The International Society on Pulsed Power Applications (ISP) is pleased to introduce an award for the most innovative pulsed power application presented at the EAPPC-BEAMS-EML 2024. Emphasizing the inextricable link between pulsed power science and industry, this award is intended to honor the author of a unique work where pulsed power has been applied in the most original and advanced way to solve current or future industrial challenges. All authors presenting at the EAPPC-BEAMS-EML 2024 may nominate themselves or their colleagues as candidates for the award. Based on the submitted abstract the ISP-award committee will preselect a short list of candidates. A dedicated section will feature short-listed candidates presenting their work to a panel of ISP members and invited experts. The winner will be awarded during the gala dinner with a prize of €2,000 and a commemorative plaque.

EAPPC Outstanding Young Researcher Awards

Any young researcher of no more than 35 years (born after 31 August 1989) can apply. The applications are either personal or recommended by members of the EAPPC International Organizing Committee. Each author must be the first author of a manuscript accepted as an oral contribution. Two best candidates will receive a cash award and a commemorative plaque each.

EEMLS Student Awards

The European Electromagnetic Launch Society
(EEMLS) will award three prizes to young researchers. Eligible are participants of the EML 20 conference who are students including PhD students and postdocs (maximum 2 years after PhD). They should be principal authors and presenters of either an oral or a poster paper at the conference. The prize committee will be formed by representatives of members of EEMLS. The prizes consist of a certificate and 500 € in cash each. Nominations for the EEMLS student awards should contain a letter of support by the supervisor of the student explaining the contribution of the student to the work presented in the paper. Please note that only one paper per student will be accepted.

EAPPC Distinguished Researcher Award

For the first time, EAPPC will recognize one of its scientific leaders with an “EAPPC Distinguished Researcher Award”. The award will be handed out to a senior researcher for their contributions made over the years to advance pulsed power science & technology. Each candidate should be nominated for this award by a sponsor, with an accompanying letter, a letter from a second sponsor and a CV. The winner will be announced well before the conference begins and will get the opportunity to present an Award Lecture during the conference. The winner will be recognized with a plaque at the awards banquet of the conference. 

EML Harry Fair Medal

The Harry Fair Medal recognizes outstanding
contributions to EML technology resulting from an individual's continued leadership in developing programs of research, education, and information exchange that are the basis for progress in electromagnetic launch. The Harry Fair Award was announced at the 15th IEEE International Symposium on EML Technology in Brussels, Belgium (May 2010)  and bears the name of Dr. Harry D. Fair who has been the leading US and international proponent for this technology since 1979, having demonstrated sound leadership and
management, steadfast conviction, and farsighted technical acumen Today, the Harry Fair Medal honors those individuals that share his dedication, leadership, and administrative vision for EML technology.

EML Peter Mark Medal

The Peter Mark Medal for Outstanding Contribution to Electromagnetic Launch Technology is named in honor of the late Professor Peter Mark, whose enthusiasm, intelligence, and vision contributed to the initiation of the U.S. program on electromagnetic launch technology. The purpose of this award is to recognize an individual's continuing outstanding technical and educational contributions to electromagnetic launch technology.

EML Peter Kemmey Student Scholarship Awards

The Peter Kemmey Student Scholarship Awards will be awarded to students selected by the EML committee.

If you have any difficulty applying for the awards, please contact the award chair.

bottom of page